A Century back in Time

 

Remember that guest writer I hinted about  earlier? Well, here’s the post! Following is a post written by my cousin, Janelle {front right of the picture}. I was glad when she agreed to do a post and hope you will enjoy it ! ~Audrey

 

IMG_0099

Hello Everyone,

I felt  honored when Audrey asked me to do a blog post for her while she is here in New York for a few weeks. Now what to blog about 🙂 I decided I will write about last Thursday when Audrey, Delores and I took the day off to tour Sonnenberg Gardens in Canandaigua.

Thursday turned out to be a warm, humid day, thankfully it wasn’t raining then since we were planning to do some hiking. We arrived at the Gardens around noontime and were awed at the old-fashioned gardens…And there was more on the premises than just gardens we were pleased to find out! There were also old greenhouses the ones with the actual glass windows etc. instead of the regular greenhouse plastic. One of the greenhouses had a fish pond in and the rest of it  looked almost like I imagine the jungle would(with cactuses instead of trees) this I found out when I got a little too close to a large cactus and was quickly brought back to my senses by a sharp prick! 🙂

DSCN3621

After touring the green houses and several other gardens we happened upon a large magnificent  mansion, amid more beautiful gardens and a large porch.

DSCN3634

This was the Mrs. Mary Sonnenberg’s and her husbands summer-house where they would raise the produce in the summer and ship it to New York city for the food supply come winter. It is a 40 room 3 story house with lots of beautiful old rooms inside. (Unfortunately my  camera had died just a we were ready to tour the mansion or I would have taken some inside pictures).It was interesting to hear the history of Sonnenberg and its ancient owners and fun to imagine living in such a large house in the olden days.

After touring the mansion we stopped to smell the roses in the garden behind the house and then we headed to our waiting carriage. Which just so happened to be a modern ‘horseless machine’  🙂

IMG_0107

I enjoyed the  flowers,greenhouses, and all the other things in between and never cease to be amazed at all the conveniences we have now days and think we couldn’t do with out. Electricity,internet, cellphones  and   social media. Communicating should never be an issue. lol

Hope you all have a blessed week and enjoy the last few days of this summer!

One thought on “A Century back in Time

Leave a comment